2011 food stop no. 1

DIGESTIBLE COMMENTARY NO. 4

Circa has always been my favorite place to drink in Savannah, so naturally, I assumed it would also be one of my favorite places to eat…However, I was slightly unimpressed with their french bistro menu and even more so with the high $$$ attached to mediocre at best dishes. My roasted free range chicken served with natural juices was more reminiscent of a think gravy than au jus and my dining companion’s steak frites left something to be desired. I do strongly appreciate the interior’s nod to an eclectic Parisian dining experience and the tiny openings that let you peek at the nighttime activities taking place next door. Circa offers a seamless transition from the necessity of eating to the pleasures of drinking. I will always gladly join you for a glass wine at the “historic little gem in downtown Savannah,” just not sure I’ll be joining you for a bite to eat.

Leave a Reply

